Author: ADMIN

Academic Class Schedule — January 2023 The class schedule is subject to changes. Below is the version of the schedule as of December 1, 2022. The document has several pages. If the frame below does not scroll on your device click here.

Read More

The Mathematics Department at the University of Puerto Rico is proud to inform the election of Dr. Guihua Gong as one of the Fellows the American Mathematical Society (AMS) . For his contributions to operator algebras and its application, in particular, to classification of C*-algebras. Congratulations Professor Gong! Professor Guihua Gong is an outstanding expert in operator algebra and non-commutative geometry. After receiving his Ph.D. from SUNY at Stony Brook in 1990 under the direction of Ronald G. Douglas, Gong visited the Fields Institute from 1990 to 1994. Gong’s research interests include C*-algebra, noncommutative geometry, classification of C*-algebras, and K-theory.…

Read More

The Department of Mathematics announces two Tenure Track Positions, one in Probability and Statistics with an emphasis on applied areas, and another in any area of Pure Mathematics. Position A Position B

Read More

K-theory of operator algebras and its applications to geometry and topology Date: August 8-12, 2022 Location: University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Principal Lecturer: Guoliang Yu Other invited speakers: Simone Cecchini (simone.cecchini@mathematik.uni-goettingen.de) Robin Deeley (robin.deeley@gmail.com) Carla Farsi (Carla.Farsi@colorado.edu) Zhuang Niu (zniu@uwyo.edu) Yanli Song (yanlisong@wustl.edu) Xiang Tang (xtang@wustl.edu) Hang Wang (wanghang@math.ecnu.edu.cn) Jinmin Wang (jinmin@tamu.edu) Kun Wang (kun.wang@upr.edu) Rufus Willett (rufus@math.hawaii.edu) Jianchao Wu (jianchao.wuuu@gmail.com) Zhizhang Xie (xie@math.tamu.edu) To all participants, please fill the application form. Organizers Ivan Cardona (University of Puerto Rico, RP), Guihua Gong (University of Puerto Rico, RP), Liangqing Li (University of Puerto Rico, RP), Lin Shan (University of Puerto…

Read More

Academic Class Schedule — August 2022 The class schedule is subject to changes. Below is the version of the schedule as of August 9, 2022. The document has several pages. If the frame below does not scroll on your device click here.

Read More

The schedule is subject to changes. Below is the schedule as of April 5, 2022. If the frame below does not scroll on your device click here.

Read More

Join us to celebrate Dr. Lopez’s life and achievements this coming Monday March 14 from 4:00-6:00PM at the “Torre”. Dr. Jorge López Fernández worked for more than 40 years in the Mathematics Department of the University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras Campus. He contributed to its development both as a professor of calculus and analysis and as a director for eight years. He also contributed to improving Mathematics Education in Puerto Rico. One of the greatest contributions was the creation of the Regional Centers for Mathematics Training and Instruction (CRAIM) dedicated to the professional development of teachers. From CRAIM, Dr.…

Read More