Author: ADMIN

K-theory of operator algebras and its applications to geometry and topology Date: August 8-12, 2022 Location: University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Principal Lecturer: Guoliang Yu Other invited speakers: Simone Cecchin (simone.cecchini@mathematik.uni-goettingen.de) Robin Deeley (robin.deeley@gmail.com) Carla Farsi (Carla.Farsi@colorado.edu) Zhuang Niu (zniu@uwyo.edu) Yanli Song (yanlisong@wustl.edu) Xiang Tang (xtang@wustl.edu) Hang Wang (wanghang@math.ecnu.edu.cn) Jinmin Wang (jinmin@tamu.edu) Kun Wang (kun.wang@upr.edu) Rufus Willett (rufus@math.hawaii.edu) Jianchao Wu (jianchao.wuuu@gmail.com) Zhizhang Xie (xie@math.tamu.edu) To all participants, please fill the application form. Organizers Ivan Cardona (University of Puerto Rico, RP), Guihua Gong (University of Puerto Rico, RP), Liangqing Li (University of Puerto Rico, RP), Lin Shan (University of Puerto…

Read More

Academic Class Schedule — August 2022 The class schedule is subject to changes. Below is the version of the schedule as of April 12, 2022. The document has several pages. If the frame below does not scroll on your device click here.

Read More

The schedule is subject to changes. Below is the schedule as of April 5, 2022. If the frame below does not scroll on your device click here.

Read More

Join us to celebrate Dr. Lopez’s life and achievements this coming Monday March 14 from 4:00-6:00PM at the “Torre”. Dr. Jorge López Fernández worked for more than 40 years in the Mathematics Department of the University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras Campus. He contributed to its development both as a professor of calculus and analysis and as a director for eight years. He also contributed to improving Mathematics Education in Puerto Rico. One of the greatest contributions was the creation of the Regional Centers for Mathematics Training and Instruction (CRAIM) dedicated to the professional development of teachers. From CRAIM, Dr.…

Read More

The Department of Mathematics of the University of Puerto Rico at Rio Piedras congratulates Dr. Minerva Cordero (B.S. 1981) for being selected by President Joe Biden to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science Mentoring. The following excerpt is taken from The University of Texas at Arlington’s website: President Joe Biden has named Minerva Cordero, professor of mathematics at The University of Texas at Arlington, a recipient of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM). She is one of only 12 individuals selected for the honor this year. The national award recognizes the critical…

Read More